Hold your own cup

Faith, Quotes

Just yesterday, I came across this tweet by Pete Scazzero.

In the coming world, they will not ask me “Why were you not Moses?” They will ask me “Why were you not you?”

Today, the same author had another tweet.

No two lives are the same. We have to live our life, not someone else’s. We have to hold OUR OWN cup.

In the Bible, the cup often represents one’s “destiny” in life. It has been depicted to be judgement, distress (Ezekiel 23:33), God’s wrath (Jeremiah 25:15), God’s salvation (Psalm 116:13), even God himself (Psalm 16:5).

Psalm 23:5 says “You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.”

In 1 Corinthians 10:21, it says “You cannot drink from the cup of the Lord and the cup of demons too”, where drinking from the cup seems to refer to partaking the life and nature of its owner.

Jesus was also heard praying in the Garden of Gethsemane (Luke 22:42), asking His Father to “take this cup from me, yet not my will but yours be done”.

I’ve not studied this metaphor of the cup before. A little surprising, considering how commonly it is used. It will be interesting to see what I could learn from this. 

Leave a Reply

