Wake me up inside

Book matters

These are the chilling words that opened the play I went to watch today.

“Wake me up inside. Call my name and save me from the dark…”

You probably might find these words familiar, especially if you were listening to pop music in the early 2000s.

Esther and I watched Falling today, a play about a family who has a son with autism.

I was prepared to witness some heart-wrenching scenes but I certainly wasn’t prepared to be in tears half of the time. Emotions were raw and as the events of each scene unfolded, it just broke my heart knowing that this is the same situation that parents with an autistic child are facing every single day.

Leave a Reply

