Design Galore

Book matters, People, Singapore

It’s Singapore Design Week. It’s only Tuesday and the week is just busy, busy.

There is SingaPlural, Maison&Objet Asia, IFFS. I’ve got interviews and press events to go for. At these many, many press events, I meet lots of people and the team has been introducing me to the different brands we work with.

Even without these things going on, my mind has been quite fully occupied with work on the weekdays and I haven’t been doing much for my book even on the weekends. I’ve been telling myself that I’ll get back to my book once I’m more settled in my job.

But I think that’s not what God has in mind.

I met an editor of another publication yesterday and bumped into her again today. We started talking and the subject of my book came up. She then suggested something which I thought was absolutely brilliant–design for autism.

As she elaborated on her suggestion, I found myself being simply impressed.

I guess I’m always impressed by people who can come up with ideas and different perspectives on the spot. So cool, these people. I do come up with ideas but it takes me time.

So anyway, I got excited about that idea and decided that it’s something I definitely want to pursue, but probably when “I’m more settled in my job”.

But just half an hour later, I bumped into her again and she very excitedly introduced me to a designer from a very prominent local architecture firm. What they have recently done was put together the first-ever all-inclusive school in Singapore. It’s not yet fully operational and I think there hasn’t been much publicity because it’s just really, really new.

So, this seems to be a nudge to start work on the online platform.

Leave a Reply

