May 2016 be a year of courage

Faith

During the Watchnight service, Elder Leong shared from the book of Joshua about the Israelites being on the threshold of entering the Promised Land.

It seems like this has been a recurring theme throughout 2015. First in BSF, I learnt how the Israelites refused to enter the Promised Land. At Youth Camp when the speaker Constance Kheng spoke on encountering a different aspect of God, Valerie prayed for me and told me that God does not go back on his word, and encouraged me to hold onto God’s promises. Two days later, Melody released a word for me, saying that God is my firm foundation and I need to step out. Finally, on the last day of 2015, Elder Leong challenged us to step out of our comfort zone and into the promises of God.

He reminded us of these words that God spoke to Joshua,

You and all these people, get ready to cross the Jordan River into the land I am about to give to the Israelites. I will give you every place where you set your foot (Joshua 1:2-3, NIV)

Wow, EVERY place where I set my foot?! Such a tremendous promise!

In the English Standard Version (ESV), it is written: Every place that the sole of your foot will tread upon I have given to you.

EVERY PLACE.

Speaking of foot, there’s no mistaking it. The message for me this new year is clear: It’s time to step out into God’s promises.

I will be strong and courageous, for the Lord my God is with me wherever I go.

 

Leave a Reply

