Restlessness

Book matters

With just three weeks left to the end of the year, there is this urgency to get things done, tie up loose ends and welcome the new year on a clean slate. For this week, I was hoping to start working on the marketing materials for my book, brainstorm ideas for a new website, and upload images on my friend’s online store so that we can start taking orders.

I definitely did not count on falling sick on Monday. And little did I expect that persistent scratchy cough to turn into a full-blown flu attack when I woke up on Tuesday.

Coupled with a job interview on Thursday and a few writing tests on Friday, this week took on quite a different direction than the one I had envisioned. There’s a high chance I may be back in full-time employment by mid-January. But I’m leaving it in God’s hands. At this point, even with a number of potential employment opportunities, I am still unsure if this is where I ought to be heading.

Opinions from people greatly differ. While the general mood is positive, one close friend has expressed caution against jumping into a job so hurriedly, gently reminding me of the experience at my last workplace. R is supportive as always, but also urged me to consider setting up my own business. Another friend says to have a job and work on the new website at the same time.

I guess it’s not easy giving career advice to someone who wants to do so many things.

Indeed there are so many things I want to do.

One of the best things I learnt this year is what I would call a “success framework”. This concept came from a book I chanced upon in the library called The Freaks Shall Inherit the Earth. The author, Chris Brogan, talks about setting up a framework for achieving a specific goal. Simply put, it’s having a clear end-point and then breaking it down to see what that looks like on a daily basis.

It sounds awfully simple but when done right, this framework is so powerful. It helped me a lot when I was writing the book because I started to see how each day was leading up to the end-point of completing my manuscript.

Now that the first draft of my manuscript is done, I’ll be using this same framework to further the next stage of my book, as well as to pursue the other things that I want to do.

Having tasted the exhilaration of creative pursuits, it’s hard to return to a typical life of an employee. With this “success framework”, even with a full-time job that eats up the most of my daily hours, I think I’ll be able to manage my personal projects better. (Just as long as the flu bug stays away.)

Leave a Reply

